Friday, January 30, 2009

Deanna Conda

Deanna Conda is a female professional wrestler.
She was born Dima Issa on June 29th, 1977, and is originally from Lebanon (conflict here as I have also seen her listed as from Toronto, Ontario) .
This 5-foot-9 and 185 pound lady has an imposing ring presence to say the least.
Her nickname is "the Glamazon from the Amazon" and she has been using the term Glamazon since before Beth Phoenix.
She has feuded with both Lufisto and Jamie D, two very tough wrestlers.
On November 30, 2008, Deanna Conda defeated Jamie D in the finals of an 8-Woman tournament at W.I.L.D. '08 - Supershow to win the Great Canadian Wrestling (GCW) W.I.L.D. Championship.

Wednesday, January 28, 2009

Cherry Bomb - Female Wrestling

cherry bomb wrestler

Cherry Bomb was born in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
Cherry got her wrestling training from Rob Fuego at Squared Circle Training, in Toronto.
Her pro wrestling debut was in May 2005. She teamed with Taylor Wilde against Tiana Ringer and Danyah.
She was the first ever Pro Wrestling Xtreme Women's Wrestling Champion and Cherry Bomb defeated April Hunter, Hailey Rogers and Miss Danyah in a to win the Great Canadian Wrestling W.I.L.D. title
Her favorite wrestling moves are the Tilt-a-Whirl Head Scissors, "The Cherry Choke" (top role choke-hold), High Cross Body and the Thez Press.
Her finishing move is the "Cherry Popper" (X-Factor).
Cherry has had feuds with Danyah, 21st Century Fox, Misty Haven and Sirelda (Jamie D).
She has been watching pro wrestling since she was a child, and her favorite wrestler is Trish Stratus.
Cherry has wrestled for Pure Wrestling Association, Pro Wrestling Xtreme, New Vision Pro Wrestling, Great Canadian Wrestling, Motor City Wrestling, ALF and SHIMMER.
She often tag teams with Krystal Banks.

Her is a video of Cherry wrestling Ashleigh Vayda:

Wednesday, January 14, 2009

The AWA World Women's Wrestling Championship


The AWA World Women's Wrestling Championship has a long and varied history.
The first AWA World Women's Wrestling Champion was June Byers.
After the AWA split from the National Wrestling Alliance (NWA), she was recognized as the Champion. Mainly because of the infamous 1954 wrestling match in Atlanta, Georgia where Byers beat the NWA World Women's Champion Mildred Burke in what became one of the greatest women's bouts of all time.
In 1960, Penny Banner won a battle royal to become the new AWA World Women's Champion. The AWA had stripped Byers of her title due to not showing up for a title defense.
In 1963, the AWA vacated the title. But the NWA continued to be recognize June Byers as champion until she retired in January 1964.
On April 13, 1963, Kay Noble defeated Kathy Starr to become the new AWA Women's Wrestling Champion.
Te title was then held by Vivian Vachon, Betty Nicoli, Candi Devine and Sherri Martel. Sherri and Candi swapped the title back and forth until Sherri finally was stripped of the title for leaving the AWA to go to the WWF in 1987.
On December 27, 1987 in Las Vegas, Nevada, Madusa Miceli defeated Candi to take the belt.
Then Wendi Richter defeated Madusa, and held the belt until she too was stripped of the title for leaving the AWA.
On December 6, 1989 in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Candi Devine got the belt once again when she defeated Judy Martin.
When the AWA closed in January 1991, the title was retired.
However, in 1999, Dale Gagner revived the belt when he started the independent promotion AWA Superstars of Wrestling, relicensing the AWA name.
The AWA Superstars of Wrestling awarded the title to former champion Sherri Martel.
On June 19, 2007 the belt was retired again after the passing of Sherri Martel on June 15.
The title was last held by Nanae Takahashi, who is now recognized as the first holder of the newly created AWA Japan Women's Championship.
Jamie D. defeated Nanae Takahashi to take the belt, and Jamie was in turn defeated by Saki Maemura.
Then on December 16, 2007 in Honolulu, Hawaii, Hikaru defeated Maemura in a hair versus title match to become the first Hawaii Championship Wrestling World Women's champion.
After that, Hawai'i Championship Wrestling folded in July 2008.
However, I checked and the Hawai'i Championship Wrestling site has a page up that says " Under Construction, Coming Soon" so the title may be revived again.

Wednesday, January 7, 2009

CZW Wrestling - Female Wrestling

Combat Zone Wrestling - CZW Wrestling - LuFisto
Combat Zone Wrestling or CZW Wrestling is a, to put it mildly, brutal promotion.
So why put it here on a blog about female wrestling?
Because one of CZW's most brutal titles, the CZW Iron Man Championship was once held by a woman.
Yes, Geneviève (Genny) Goulet better known by Indy wrestling fans as LuFisto actually held the CZW Iron Man Championship.
On August 12, 2006 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, LuFisto pinned Kevin Steen in an "All Out War" barbed wire steel cage elimination match at Trapped to become the first ever female CZW Iron Man Champion.
Unlike the way the WWE have women win titles by flukes, Lufisto not only won the belt straight up, but held it for 154 days.
And her reign may have been longer, but she had to vacate the title due to a back injury.

Popular Posts